Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Crowborough RFC


Senior Awards Night 2017

11 months ago By Ian Geering

Ben Searle, Takes Top Awards

The curtain came down on another season on Saturday Evening (6th May 2017) at the club house, with all the Senior Awards being presented. Hosted by the Captain's and Head Coach, Dan Moore.
Another great evening was had by everyone with a 4-course meal being served up by Jacqui and her team.
Ed Radford opened proceeding with the usual banter and Awards presented as follow's

3rd XV - Clubman of the Year - Ash Ludgate
3rd XV - Most Improved Player - James Wilmshurst
3rd XV - Players Player of the Year - Alex Rogers
3rd XV - Player of the Year - Simon Moon

The table's were turned slightly on the captain, as Mark Wilson took over to present, Ed Radford with his award of `Knob of the Year`.
The 3rd XV, being the most success `Senior` side this season by finishing 2nd in the community league, despite the lack of consistent league games during the season.

Keith Brooker then took charge to Award the 2nd XV , with a little help from Jez Hill !
They were as follows:
2nd XV - Most Improved Player - Marathon Man - Josh Llewellyn
2nd XV - Newcomer of the Year - Dean Harrison
2nd XV - Players Player of the Year - Will Creasy
2nd XV - Player of the Year - Matt Cheney

Head Coach - Dan Moore finished the presentation's by thanking everyone for their support through this difficult season, special thanks went to Dave Bristow & the Friday Club, (for everything that is done on a Friday - Including the best pitch's ever seen at Steel Cross) Rick Howe, (Match Reports) Drew Pratt, (Photographer) Sandra Hepple (Bar Management) Jacqui Eyers (Food tonight and at Training during the season), Paul Gray ( D.O.R.) And finally yours truly (Ian Geering) for making things happen most weeks.

Rick Howe, was on hand to speak and present the Crowborough Faithful/Supporters Award, as voted by the 1st XV Supporters who come to the Club and travel away most weekends. This season's award was won by Ben Searle, Obviously we was very disappointed that Ben was on Holiday and couldn't be with us for the evening, ` I feel a fine coming your way` - Ben !

Dan continued to speak about the season and Tom McMahon gave out the Awards as follows:

1st XV - Senior Young Player of the Year - Andy Orchard
1st XV - Newcomer of the Year - Tom McMahon
1st XV - Most Improved Player of the Year (No Mean Feet) this season stepping up 4 levels to play 1st XV rugby this season - Ollie Jude-Trailor was also absent with a pre- family commitment.
1st XV - Players Player of the Year - Ben Searle
1st XV - Player of the Year - Ben Searle.

The final award of the evening went to Colin Forster who after 10 or so years is standing down from his role's on a Saturday afternoon. Our thanks go to Colin who has always been around to help out with the 1st XV, He received the `1st/2nd XV Team Outstanding Contribution Award` .

Updated 21:03 - 23 May 2017 by David Shortland

Where next?

Coach to Dartfordians..... Come and join the team for our final away day of the season.

Fri 27 Apr
Friendly 18:00
U16's Awards Night
Friendly 19:00
Sat 28 Apr
Cup 15:00
Sun 29 Apr
League 10:00
Friendly 10:00
U11's Training
Training 10:00
U10's .
Training 10:00
U9's None
Training 10:00
U7's Training
Training 10:00
Girls U18’s CRFC Training
Training 10:00
Girls U15's CRFC Training
Training 10:00
Girls U13's CRFC Training
Training 10:00
U13's Hove RFC
League 11:00
Sat 5 May
Cup C – C

News sponsors


Club sponsors